Terror in Resonance: Poignant and So Worth It

Terror in Resonance: Poignant and So Worth It

What’s It About? In an alternative version of the present, Tokyo is on high alert after being decimated by a terrorist attack.  The only clue to who and why is a bizarre video uploaded to the internet. Here two teen teens are taking responsibility for the attack, and promising that more attacks are to come. Initial Thoughts Every anime season or so, there is usually one anime that catches my attention, but fails to give me “that something” to make me take the leap. Terror in Resonance was such an anime from the Summer 2014 season. The premise sounded interesting […]

Posted 29 January, 2015
Anime Review
Divider

DNF Chronicles: Seeker

DNF Chronicles: Seeker

Once upon a time, the phrase DNF (Did Not Finish) was not in my vocabulary. But sometimes you find those reads that simply do not click. These unfortunate, DNF reads are cataloged within the DNF Chronicles. Even though the book and I did not click, we hope that you will still give any of the books featured a shot. Read to: About 28%, which is around 120 pages.   Being a seeker isn’t all that its cracked up to be. Promoted as for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, Seeker had a lot to live up to. […]

Posted 28 January, 2015
Book Review, DNF Chronicles
Divider

Top Ten Books I’d Love to Read With A Book Club…If I Had A Book Club

Top Ten Books I’d Love to Read With A Book Club…If I Had A Book Club

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week our topic is: Top Ten Books I’d Love to Read With A Book Club…If I Had A Book Club Listed in no particular order. Peony in Love by Lisa See Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See Anything by Maria V. Snyder Anything by Tamora Pierce Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, #1) by Susan Beth Pfeffer Sing Me to Sleep by Angela Morrison For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1) by Diana Peterfreund Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst Earth […]

Posted 27 January, 2015
Top Ten Tuesdays
Divider

The Monster Report

The Monster Report

Welcome to another edition of the Monster Report. The Monster Report explores the book happenings of Kate and Kristen. Whether it be what we got in our mailboxes, what books we are currently hiding in, or fun stuff to look forward to this week at The Book Monsters, you can find it here. The Monster Report is inspired by Alea’s This Week in Books, Tynga’s Stacking the Shelves, and Sheila’s It’s Monday, What are you Reading? Also, Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers also host a kidlit version of It’s Monday, What are you Reading? For Review: Sweet by Emmy […]

Posted 26 January, 2015
The Monster Report
Divider

Graphic Novel Review: The Sixth Gun

Graphic Novel Review: The Sixth Gun

The Sixth Gun is a western horror graphic novel series. A young woman named Rebecca is pulled into quite a dangerous situation when her father is killed and she becomes the wielder of one of six guns, all that have supernatural powers. These guns can only be used by the owners, so to possess one, you must kill the current owner. Our heroine in danger finds the help of Drake Sinclair, a gunfighter with a past. Together, they must make sure an immortal evil man does not rise again and possess all six guns for himself. The graphics are incredible […]

Posted 25 January, 2015
Book Review, Graphic Novel Review
Divider

Write On Reviewathon 12

Write On Reviewathon 12

The Write On review-a-thon is a monthly event created and hosted by Brianna at The Book Vixen. This time, for the FIRST TIME ever, it’s 3 days dedicated to getting reviews done, whether you have one review to write or 30+. This edition of the review-a-thon takes place all day Friday, January 23rd through Sunday, January 25th. Let’s get those reviews done! Since Bloggiesta was last weekend, I got somewhat caught up. I still have quite a few reviews to do and even more to set up so I’m ready when I finish my TBR pile this month. Hope I […]

Posted 23 January, 2015
Review-a-Thon
Divider

Book Review: The Young World

Book Review: The Young World

The Young World is a post apocalyptic novel about a sickness that wipes out everyone that is not a teenager. When people turn 18 years old. Jefferson is not looking forward to his brother Wash turning 18, meaning that Jefferson will have to take over looking over his group of survivors. Told from two different points of view, Jefferson and Donna, both are in love with each other at some point during the novel. Both of them have their own scruples, strengths, and weaknesses and make for an interesting set of narratives. Set in New York City, there’s different factions […]

Posted 22 January, 2015
Book Review
Divider

Monstrous Discoveries

Monstrous Discoveries

Monstrous Discoveries is a feature that mentions books that we have discovered through our sidetracking excursions around the web. While our bookshelves really are not never ending, it is always exciting to share the books we would add if it was. Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine Releases: July 7th 2015 In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.… Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, […]

Posted 21 January, 2015
Monstrous Discoveries
Divider