Author Guest Post: Heather Terrell

The Book Monsters are excited to welcome Heather Terrell, author of Relic. Heather is here to talk about some of her favorite superstitions (it's Halloween, after all!) Take it away, Heather….
 
 
I am incredibly superstitious about finding pennies. Do you know the old phrase — ‘find a penny pick it up, all day long have good luck’? Well, I take it to the extreme. I’m afraid I’ll have bad luck if I don’t pick a penny up. Needless to say, I have an enormous penny collection! 
 
Also, recently, while I was researching the Inuit culture for my book RELIC in which descendants of the Inuit people place a large role, I learned about one of their practices that I found fascinating — although I wouldn’t call it a superstition as it’s based on religious beliefs. Some of the traditional Inuits believed that all objects and living things have a spirit. Consequently, they have very specific rituals when they kill animals for food to ensure that they do not offend the animals’ spirits. I find this practice very beautiful and life-honoring.

 

Heather TerrellHeather Terrell worked as a commercial litigator in New York City for over ten years, but she has always been obsessed with myth, lore, and the gap between history and the truth. This preoccupation has led to several loosely factual historical novels (The Chrysalis, The Map Thief, Brigid of Kildare) and the pure-lore Fallen Angel series. Relic is the first installment of The Books of Eva series. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family. Visit her at www.heatherterrell.com.

 

 

 

Get the free prequel, CHRONICLE: http://www.relicthebook.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Heather-Terrell/221098257903297

http://www.heatherterrell.com/content/index.asp

 

More about Relic:Relic (Books of Eva, #1)

The truth will test you…

For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.

When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.

Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.

But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.

Latest posts by Kate (see all)
Divider

One response to “Author Guest Post: Heather Terrell

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.