Book Review: Champion

Book Review: ChampionChampion by Marie Lu
Series: Legend #3
Published by Penguin on November 5th 2013
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Champion is the last of a great trilogy. Day and June are separate, but not for long, as a new threat has June asking Day once again for his help. If he doesn’t it could mean war between the Colonies and the Republic, something that is best avoided. A new plague has cropped up and once it affects Day’s close friend, he can no longer resist helping.

Day and June are probably one of the best literary couples I’ve seen in a while. They both have their own goals that keep pulling them apart, but they cannot deny their feelings for each other. I love the style of these books, giving perspective into different characters so you can see both sides of the story. I like that the romance is somewhat to the side, but entangled in the main plot all the same. Lu has a great balance of action, intrigue and romance that really makes this a compelling trilogy to read.

Also, I loved seeing more insight into some of the other areas of the world. I loved their visit to Antarctica to ask for their help and the unique way of keeping peace in that territory. The politics involved in the novel really add to the enjoyment of this book, giving it more than the typical dystopian novel. I loved meeting the Chancellor, who tries to sway Day in his own way and also the re-involvement of the Patriots and their role in the incidents that occur in this novel.

The epilogue of Champion really pulled at my heart strings and gave me goosebumps and really pulled together what we wanted from the novel, but in a realistic light. If you haven’t read this trilogy, I would suggest checking them out.

Kristen

Kristen is the co-blog owner of The Book Monsters. Kristen is an Elementary School Library Media Specialist in the Chicago suburbs who loves reading. Why else would she be a librarian?

Latest posts by Kristen (see all)

Divider

One response to “Book Review: Champion

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.