Book Review: Crescendo

Book Review: CrescendoCrescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Series: ,
Published by Simon & Schuster Books on October 19th 2010
Pages: 432
Goodreads

The sequel to the New York Times Best selling phenomenon, Hush, Hush!

Nora should have known her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described as anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away, and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch, or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

 

Nora and Patch are back… and better than ever! After the spellbinding brilliance of Hush, Hush, I wondered how exactly could Becca Fitzpatrick top the awesomeness of her first novel. But within a few pages I knew the answer… easily.  

Crescendo picks up shortly after Hush, Hush. Nora is lost, confused, and full of questions as she tries to find a place in her world without her father. To make matters worse, Patch is there but not really there. These days he seems like he is off on another planet leaving Nora to continually guess just exactly what is going on inside of that lovely head of his.

Very early in the novel, I was captivated by Crescendo for showing me a completely different side to Nora. Here she is constantly searching for answers. Trying to find out where it is that she belongs. Due to these struggles, the reader gets to see a more sensitive side… a softer side even. And while some of the struggles are very personal in nature, Fitzpatrick details them perfectly. Every detail is so realistic… so relatable that for much of the novel I just wanted to give Nora a hug. Like Nora, Patch is very different than what was shown in Hush, Hush. He is more secretive. And it is often hard to tell what is going on with him. But that is beauty of Fitzpatrick's writing. Every time you are willing to give up on Patch, he comes through with shining colors. He is the bad boy that you cannot help but love.

Crescendo was exactly what I was wanting and more from Hush, Hush's sequel. Brilliant characters. Fantastic plot. And twists and turns that leave you breathless. I felt like I was on a roller-coaster… never knowing exactly which way was up. Fans of Hush, Hush will rejoice at this satisfying sequel that will leave you dying for even more.

Kate

Kate is the co-blog owner of The Book Monsters. I am a twenty-something year old who is passionate about reading. I currently hold a B.A. in English and am married to my high school sweetheart. We have two (cat) children, Gracie and Kit, who are total divas. I have an insane and possibly unhealthy passion for reading. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book.

Latest posts by Kate (see all)

Divider

4 responses to “Book Review: Crescendo

  1. Caroline

    Just finished hush, hush, and the 12 days I’ll have to wait for crescendo are going to be some of the longest days of my life. (:

  2. Anonymous

    That’s fantastic! The book should be greatt and I love your critique nott justt because it tells me bunches about the books

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.