Book Review: Sea of Shadows

Book Review: Sea of ShadowsSea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Age of Legends #1
Published by HarperCollins on April 8th 2014
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.

But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.

With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

thought

Twins Moria and Ashyn are the Keeper and Seeker of Edgewood. A small town on the edge of Forest of the Dead. In this society, the empire’s worst criminals are exiled to the Forest of the Dead, for the most part, to never be heard or seen from again. However, if you are lucky enough to survive this horrific forest, then your misdeeds will all but be forgiven. When the year’s annual festivities begin to honor and calm the spirits starts to take a dark turn, the twins lives will never be the same.

Sea of Shadows starts off a little slow. Building the world, introducing our characters, and basically laying the groundwork for all the craziness that eventually comes to pass. The story is told from both Moria and Ashyn’s perspectives. While each twin is easily to distinguish, it was also a little hard at times to try to figure out exactly whose perspective I was in at the moment. Personally, Moria was favorite twin. She was strong, brave, independent. Watching her adventure was definitely my favorite part. However, you cannot count out Ashyn. While Moria is strong and brave, Ashyn has a quiet strength to her. She is the backbone of the family and even Moria’s rock as needed.

In addition to the twins are Ronan and Gavril, our love interests. Both bring a needed extra layer to the read. Ronan with his humor. Gavril with his tragic past. Both a nice counterpart to the girls. But before you go thinking, “ugh, romance”… stop. While the budding romances do plan a key point in Sea of Shadows, thankfully it is more in the background than the foreground. They are not easy romances by any means, nor do they take over the book. Each grouping (Ashyn and Ronan / Moria and Gavril) go at their own pacing. Sometimes quickly. Sometimes very slowly.

Sea of Shadows is more about the journey to the ending, not just rushing to have everything come together.

Like the beginning, Sea of Shadows often times felt like it was taking FOREVER to get somewhere or to have something resolved. There are quiet a few pieces that must come together to have everything make sense, so personally, I was okay with the pacing. With the mystery of the Forest of the Dead to getting to the Emperor’s palace, I was never bored. The story was constantly changing scenery as the twins search for answers. Plus, there is a spooky undertone at certain points, which was an unexpected plus.

Verdict:

A little slow at times, but an incredible journey. One filled with romance, action, and a shocking betrayal.

Kate

Kate is the co-blog owner of The Book Monsters. I am a twenty-something year old who is passionate about reading. I currently hold a B.A. in English and am married to my high school sweetheart. We have two (cat) children, Gracie and Kit, who are total divas. I have an insane and possibly unhealthy passion for reading. You can usually find me with my nose buried in a book.

Latest posts by Kate (see all)

Divider

One response to “Book Review: Sea of Shadows

  1. I am glad to hear you enjoyed this book! I love Kelley Armstrong her writing style and was so excited for this book, but then negative reviews started popping up everywhere. So every time I find someone who enjoyed this book I have a little bit more hope I’ll enjoy it as well. Kelley her books tend to be a bit slow at times, but usually I don’t mind as much. I plan on reading this book this summer, so I hope I’ll enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.