Book Review: The Terror of the Southlands

Book Review: The Terror of the SouthlandsThe Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #2: The Terror of the Southlands by Caroline Carlson
Published by Harper Collins on September 9th 2014
Pages: 336
Goodreads

More pirates, more magic, and more adventure in the second book of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series! Caroline Carlson brings the unceasing wit, humor, and fun of the first book in the series, Magic Marks the Spot, to this epic sequel. Fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society will love this quirky tween series and hope to join the VNHLP just like Hilary!Hilary Westfield is now a bona fide pirate, but when her daring, her magical know-how, and even her gargoyle don’t convince the VNHLP that she’s worthy of her title, the Terror of the Southlands, she sets off with her crew on a High Seas adventure. But then Miss Pimm disappears and Hilary decides to find the missing Enchantress and protect the magic of Augusta.

thoughtThe Terror of the Southlands is the second book in a middle grade series about a girl pirate in a land with magic. Hilary is reprimanded several times during the book for “unpiratical behavior” but she cannot help but try and save the Enchantress, who has gone missing. With the help of her crew, she sets off on an adventure to prove her piracy and help save the kingdom.

I love the narration of these audiobooks and adore Katherine Kellgren. I especially love the different letters and newspaper articles that pepper the book, adding another layer to the story. Hilary is a wonderful lead heroine, more hero at times than she is pirate, but she insists on trying her best to be dastardly. I love the hilarious moments within the book, as the characters are a bit over the top and really make you laugh at times with their stupidity.

The Terror of the Southlands was a great follow up to the first novel, giving Hilary an adventure that makes her grow as a character. I love listening to these on audio and would highly suggest them being read this way. Her gargoyle is another favorite part of the stories, often times being a bit cowardly, but stepping up when needed.

Verdict:

A thrilling adventure featuring a strong female hero and a cast of unforgettable characters.

Latest posts by Kristen (see all)

Divider

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.