Book View: This Wicked Game

Book View: This Wicked GameThis Wicked Game by Michelle Zink
Published by Penguin on November 14th 2013
Pages: 368
Goodreads

For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black comes a dark mystery set in a secret New Orleans voodoo society. Claire Kincaid would love to be normal. But as a descendant of Marie Laveau, the most powerful voodoo queen in history, that’s just not possible. Even worse, Claire’s lack of interest in the craft makes her an outsider in her community, putting her secret romance with the voodoo Guild leader’s son at odds. But when mysterious strangers start requesting black market items from local voodoo shops, including the one her family owns, Claire decides to investigate. With the help of some unlikely allies and her gorgeous boyfriend, Claire must uncover the dark truths her family has kept hidden from her and unravel a dangerous plot that threatens to destroy every member of the Guild, including her family and the boy she loves.

Short & Sweet: This Wicked Game is a standalone novel about Claire, whose family runs a voodoo shop and one day while she is there, a mysterious woman orders an item that has the potential to kill. Suddenly, the Guild is involved and Claire decides to run her own investigation with her secret boyfriend Xander. I’ve always loved Zink’s books, so it was nice to see this one coming out and I really enjoyed reading this one. A nice change from usual Young Adult, This Wicked Game already has the protagonist in a relationship, one she has hidden because she denies the existence of magic. No longer able to, Claire must come to terms with her own potential for magic and how it may help save her family and friends.

Final Verdict: I found This Wicked Game a unique read, with Claire not believing in magic in a magical family and an already established relationship. I loved the mystery and setting of this book, giving it a modern yet dark feel. I also like that it’s a standalone, it did well to wrap up the story.

Latest posts by Kristen (see all)
Divider

One response to “Book View: This Wicked Game

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.