DNF Chronicles: Seeker

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DNF Chronicles: SeekerSeeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Series: Seeker #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on February 10th 2015
Pages: 448
Goodreads

For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it's too late to walk away.

Once upon a time, the phrase DNF (Did Not Finish) was not in my vocabulary. But sometimes you find those reads that simply do not click. These unfortunate, DNF reads are cataloged within the DNF Chronicles. Even though the book and I did not click, we hope that you will still give any of the books featured a shot.

thought

Read to: About 28%, which is around 120 pages.

 

Being a seeker isn’t all that its cracked up to be.

Promoted as for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, Seeker had a lot to live up to. Even before I started the first pages, I was excited, but a little iffy on the whole “for fans” promotion. The premise seemed mysterious enough, so I figured what the heck.

Seeker hits the ground running with not one, but two interesting fighting sequences within the first few chapters. A promising start. I even started to let my guard down a bit. Letting myself start to hope that I had a winner on my hands. Nope.

 

Issue #1: The Mysterious Plot to Nowhere

I have no issue with a book holding on to its deeper secrets till later on. That is part of what makes a book fun. Going along and discovering tidbit after tidbit. Seeker gets some points for starting off with action. It drew me into the read, and made me think that I could possibly have found a nice thick read (it’s close to 500 pages) to get lost in for a few hours. Then, the fighting stopped.

While it often takes a book a few pages or so to get its bearings, Seeker takes the mysterious plot device to a whole new level. Let’s start with the basics…

What is a Seeker? Answer: no freakin’ clue.

What is the “evil” they are protecting the weak and the wronged from? Answer: no freakin’ clue.

Why does everyone else around these kids seem to really know what is going on, but no one can take 5 seconds to explain it? Answer: no freakin’ clue.

That is a nutshell is part of my grip with Seeker. Even after getting about 120 pages into the read, I have just about no freakin’ clue about anything.

 

Issue #2: Setting, What setting?

With Seeker, I was lost. Literally. Seeker‘s setting is a strange blend. Part medieval, part futuristic. Part… I’m not really sure what it is.

Seeker starts out in a medieval castle of sorts with all the historical trappings. Fine. I can handle that. The recruits using weapons that are like something out of a science fiction novel. Okay. I can still handle that. Mixing the two isn’t too bad. Flash forward a few chapters, now we have hover cars. Okay? Flash forward a more few chapters, now we are outside of the castle in small town close by. Here, we are again back to the medieval type setting. Um.. okay. You are starting to lose me. Flash forward a more few chapters, and now we are in a big city. In this city are skyscrapers, billboards, blimps, and the like. I. AM. DONE.

There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with mixing technology or time periods… when it makes sense.

For Seeker, it might have worked. It might have even worked really well. If anything had ever been explained. But it wasn’t.

 

Final Thoughts

Seeker will probably end up being the type of read that either readers will devour, or make them want to pull their hair out. While I never truly got to the hair pulling out stage, I was really close. I went into Seeker wanting to like it. Heck, it was on my list of must reads for 2015. I was super excited for it. It just failed to deliver. Hard.

 

 

Latest posts by Kate (see all)
Divider

2 responses to “DNF Chronicles: Seeker

  1. It sucks that this book wasn’t for you Kate, I really liked the idea of the synopsis but after reading your review and completely agreeing with all the reasons why you couldn’t finish this book I now know to not come near it even with a big pole. Fantasy that isn’t explained well is my pet peeve. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Man I am so glad I am not alone in my confusion about the book. I reviewed it for my blog earlier this week and I was just as lost as you. I thought about quitting it, but I had already put so much into it and I kept hoping the author would reveal something . . . anything. It was so frustrating. I did end up finishing it, but that is one series I have zero interest in finishing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.