Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Book Review: Shadow Scale

Book Review: Shadow Scale

Seraphina was one of my favorite reads these past years and I can’t believe I waited so long to read the sequel Shadow Scale. This is a duology, so if you were waiting to read for another book to come out, wait no longer. It’s worth it, trust me! In the first book, we are introduced to Seraphina and she has a mind garden with all these characters contained inside. She found that one was real and now the rest she now realizes in Shadow Scale, are truly real – they are other half-dragons like herself. The only problem is […]

Posted February 2, 2017
Book Review
Divider

DNF Chronicles: Seeker

DNF Chronicles: Seeker

Once upon a time, the phrase DNF (Did Not Finish) was not in my vocabulary. But sometimes you find those reads that simply do not click. These unfortunate, DNF reads are cataloged within the DNF Chronicles. Even though the book and I did not click, we hope that you will still give any of the books featured a shot. Read to: About 28%, which is around 120 pages.   Being a seeker isn’t all that its cracked up to be. Promoted as for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, Seeker had a lot to live up to. […]

Posted January 28, 2015
Book Review, DNF Chronicles
Divider

Book Review: Princess of Th..

Book Review: Princess of Thorns

Princess of Thorns is a mash-up of different fairy tales, mixed and thrown into a plot and world I fell in love with. Princess Aurora is trying to save her brother from a horrible fate and is dressed like a boy when she meets Niklaas, a prince who is devoted to finding the lovely princess and marrying her before he turns 18. On his birthday, if he does not marry, he will become a swan like his brothers. This unlikely meet-up leads to some humorous moments, as Niklaas thinking Aurora is her younger brother and sets off to help Aurora […]

Posted January 14, 2015
Book Review
Divider

Book Review: Now That You&#..

Book Review: Now That You’re Here

If you are looking for a book that has a sweet romance and a little bit more substance, Now That You’re Here may be the perfect read for you. Eevee is your typical over-achiever. Super smart. Lives, breathes, eats to study. But she is good at it. Plus, with her best friend, Warren, by her side, she feels like she has everything she could want or need. Until Danny, the delinquent, one day begins acting like she is his only hope. For Danny, waking up in a parallel universe is a bit unsettling. Nothing is how it should be. No more […]

Posted November 27, 2014
Book Review
Divider

Book View: Wild River

Book View: Wild River

Wild River is a thrilling book about a pair of brothers, Ryan and Tanner, who set out on a camping trip, but an accident happens, leaving the older brother Tanner unconscious.  It is up to Ryan to seek help, but he doesn’t know much about where he is or really about anything when it comes to nature. He must step up or possible lose his brother. A short chapter book, this book really captures your attention and brings a regular kid to becoming a hero. I love stories like this and I think they inspire young people to be better […]

Posted October 30, 2014
Book Review, Book Views
Divider

Book Review: Frostborn

Book Review: Frostborn

Frostborn captured my attention, what’s not to like – frost giants, dragons, and a character who is obsessed with a specific board game. There’s something about middle grade fiction that is so satisfying. It’s not just about the adventure and action, but there’s always deeper meanings. Thianna is a female frost giant, but she is also half human, therefore she always feels inadequate and trying to prove that she is a frost giant. She’s bullied and often gets in and out of fights, but her father knows her destiny will take her beyond her own village. It’s on a trip […]

Posted August 17, 2014
Book Review
Divider

Book Review: Sky Jumpers

Book Review: Sky Jumpers

In Sky Jumpers, World War III has left the world less inhibited and the people of White Rock are protected by Bomb's Breath – an area of green mist that will kill those who walk through it. The town's emphasis is on inventions and every year there is a festival celebrating the inventions created by the children of the town. Unfortunately, Hope seems to lack a skill of inventing and her latest failure leaves her completely out of displaying her work. Her best friend Aaren is a brilliant inventor and she feels like she cannot hold a candle to anything […]

Posted December 27, 2013
Book Review
Divider

DNF Chronicles: The Lost Su..

DNF Chronicles: The Lost Sun

Once upon a time, the phrase DNF (Did Not Finish) was not in my vocabulary. But sometimes you find those reads that simply do not click. These unfortunate, DNF reads are cataloged within the DNF Chronicles. Even though the book and I did not click, we hope that you will still give any of the books featured a shot. Read to: about page 120 of 368 The Final Straw: Lack of world-building, plain and simple. Oh, and an awkward romance that basically starts as soon as the main character sees the girl character. The Lost Sun started off as a […]

Posted September 5, 2013
Book Review
Divider