Song of the Abyss Book Review

Song of the Abyss Book ReviewSong of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on August 27, 2019
Pages: 368
Goodreads

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.
They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.
Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.
But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors--her captain, her countrymen--have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.
Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

thought

I really enjoyed this adventure. I read the whole thing in a day because I found myself riveted from the moment our two main characters Reyna and Levi meet. Their banter and chemistry was undeniable and I found myself truly intrigued and that continued throughout the entire book. I love the little nods that we get in this book to the first one but I also like that you don’t necessarily need to read the first one to understand this one although I do recommend doing so.

Blaise was probably one of my favorite characters and I loved seeing her preserving throughout the book, I loved how things wrapped up for her. Jamie was also fun to read about and I found myself loving how oblivious he could be at times.

 

 

 

Verdict: All in all this was an very entertaining read and I am happy that I got to spend the day immersed in such a colorful world. I gave it a 4/5 and would recommend to anyone who loves fantasy and pirates. 

Latest posts by jessica (see all)
Divider

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.