Ten Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

top

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week our topic is: Ten Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

Listed in no particular order. A lot of these are middle grade titles. 🙂

one Edge of Extinction: The Ark Plan (Edge of Extinction, #1) Edge of Extinction: The Ark Plan (Edge of Extinction, #1) by Laura Martin – for fans of Jurassic Park, I really loved the start to this series. It also only has 86 ratings on Goodreads.

two Shadow Magic Shadow Magic by Joshua Khan – I hope this book picks up more speed, the sequel is coming out soon… but it was pretty epic and full of great characters. It has under 1,000 ratings on Goodreads and deserves a heck of a lot more.

threeMysteries of Cove, Book 2: Gears of Revolution Gears of Revolution(Mysteries of Cove, #2) by J. Scott Savage – I haven’t read the first book but this one stands well on its own. I love the dragons, I loved the characters and it’s pretty awesome on audio.

four The Goblin's Puzzle: Being the Adventures of a Boy with No Name and Two Girls Called Alice The Goblin’s Puzzle: The Adventures of a Boy With No Name and Two Girls Called Alice by Andrew S. Chilton – this was another great epic MG adventure, but with plenty of humor!

five The Voyage to Magical North The Voyage to Magical North by Claire Fayers – another MG, I loved this adventure story, filled with pirates, magic and even a magical island of librarians. 🙂

six Impyrium Impyrium by Henry H. Neff – full of high magic and a bit more world building than expected in a middle grade novel, I absolutely loved this book!

seven Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard: A Peter Nimble Adventure Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard by Jonathan Auxier – the sequel to Peter Nimble, I absolutely loved Sophie, who is a bookmender and ends up on her own adventure as she is the only one who can repair a magical and rare book.

eight Dead Air (The Kat Sinclair Files #1) The Kat Sinclair Files by Michelle Schusterman – This is sort of like Supernatural for kids. I was hooked with the first book and read the second this year. I love the set up, the different mysteries and ghosts and the real life problems that crop up as well. The first book only has 44 ratings on Goodreads and that makes me sad!

nine The Firefly Code The Firefly Code by Megan Frazer Blakemore – utopian society where the kids find out their new neighbor isn’t quite like them. I just loved this story so much.

ten Metaltown Metaltown by Kristen Simmons – I’m surprised this one isn’t more widely read, with only 313 ratings on Goodreads. The core story reminds me a bit of Newsies, where they are fighting for better treatment. It’s futuristic but has the feel of the industrial age. Absolutely loved this book. The only YA book on this list….

Kristen

Kristen is the co-blog owner of The Book Monsters. Kristen is an Elementary School Library Media Specialist in the Chicago suburbs who loves reading. Why else would she be a librarian?

Latest posts by Kristen (see all)

Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge